English 102: Writing About Myth and Fantasy

Jenny March's acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A - Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters. Characters such as Achilles and Odysseus have extensive entries, as do epic journeys and heroic quests, like that of Jason and the Argonauts to win the Golden Fleece, all alongside a plethora of information on the creation of the cosmos, the many metamorphoses of gods and humans, and the Trojan War, plus more minor figures - nymphs, seers, kings, rivers, to name but a few. In this superbly authoritative work the myths are brilliantly retold, along with any major variants, and with extensive translations from ancient authors that give life to the narratives and a sense of the vibrant cultures that shaped the development of classical myth. The 172 illustrations give visual immediacy to the words, by showing how ancient artists perceived their gods and heroes. The impact of myths on ancient art is also explored, as is and their influence in the post-classical arts, emphasising the ongoing inspiration afforded by the ancient myths. Also included are two maps of the ancient world, a list of the ancient sources and their chronology, the more important genealogies, and an index of recurrent mythical motifs.

Fantasy is both old and new. In the ancient past, stories of magic, where supernatural creatures existed, the gods walked the earth and heroes saved their civilizations from the dark fate that awaited them were intermingled with history, religion, and fact. It is only in the last few hundred years that a conscious suspension of disbelief has allowed us to return to fantasy: the literature of the impossible and appreciate it for its craft and storytelling once more. Historical Dictionary of Fantasy Literature, Second Edition contains a chronology, an introduction, an extensive bibliography, and cross-referenced entries on more than 800 authors, ranging across the entire historical spectrum. More than 200 other entries describe the fantasy sub genres, key images in fantasy literature, technical terms used in fantasy criticism, and the intimately convoluted relationship between literary fantasies, scholarly fantasies, and lifestyle fantasies. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about fantasy literature.

A Dictionary of Film Studies covers all aspects of its discipline as it is currently taught at undergraduate level. Offering exhaustive and authoritative coverage, this A-Z is written by experts in the field, and covers terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism; national, international, and transnational cinemas; film history, movements, and genres; film industry organizations and practices; and key technical terms and concepts. Since its first publication in 2012, the dictionary has been updated to incorporate over 40 new entries, including computer games and film, disability, ecocinema, identity, portmanteau film, Practice as Research, and film in Vietnam. Moreover, numerous revisions have been made to existing entries to account for developments in the discipline, and changes to film institutions more generally. Indices of films and filmmakers mentioned in the text are included for easy access to relevant entries. The dictionary also has 13 feature articles on popular topics and terms, revised and informative bibliographies for most entries, and more than 100 web links to supplement the text.

"An integrated view of the history of our global community from a 21st-century perspective, with a focus on environmental and social issues. The 580 articles, edited and written by scholars around the world, examine connections and interactions made over time (and across cultures and locales) through trade, warfare, migration, religion, and diplomacy"--Provided by publisher.