English

While the Library Search, the main search box on the library's website, is both an excellent resource and a great starting point, I recommend going beyond Library Search and using databases for research. Consider also using multiple databases, as Library Search and each database have access to different materials. 

Library Search provides a wide, but shallow, selection of resources. I can find resources on a topic that relate to subjects of all kinds. For example, searching for "wildlife tourism" in Library Search will provide articles on the economic impact of wildlife tourism, its ecological impact, the geographical locations of popular destinations, analyses of literary works (novels, poetry, short stories, etc.) portraying wildlife tourism... And that's just the beginning.

However, Library Search will provide a shallow look at each of these subjects. To get a deeper, though more narrow, look at a topic, I need to use a subject-specific database. To locate such a database, go to the library's A to Z Databases page, and filter databases by subject.

You can filter results both in databases and in Library Search on the left-hand side of your screen within the search results. The filters will be arranged differently and may have different names depending on the search interface.

Filters often include:

•  Material Type

•  Peer Review/Scholarly

•  Date

•  Available Online

•  Format

•  Subject

•  Language   

Example Images of Partial Filters Lists in Search Interfaces

Library Search	MLA International Bibliography	JSTOR