Skip to main content

Business Research

Free, online resources

American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)

Retrieve Census survey data on population, ethnicity, geographic places, age, income, etc. Also has Annual Economic Surveys and employment data by industry.

American Community Survey Briefs (U.S.)

These are brief, recent updates from Census on poverty, income, health insurance coverage and more.

American Time Use Survey (U.S.)

How do Americans 15 and over use their time? The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides the numbers in news releases and tables, sorted by gender.

AllBusiness

How to start and operate a business – checklists, planning, credit, finance, accounting, taxes, technology, green business, working with a lawyer, and a large franchise directory.

Bloomberg / Business Week

The popular business magazine and its special reports.

BRASS Best of the Best Advertising & Marketing Websites

A selective list of good public websites and advertising and marketing.

BRASS Best of the Best American Corporation Websites

A list of good public Websites on American corporations, their stock, filings, and Fortune / Forbes Lists

BRASS Best of the Best Banking Websites

The Federal Reserve system's publications and statistical reports are featured. Other parts include regulation, financial statements, and industry data.

Business for Social Responsibility

This network develops sustainable strategies and solutions through research and collaboration on the environment, human rights, economic development, governance, and accountability.

Business Law Section of the American Bar Association

Access to full-text articles from Business Law Today, along with important updates and new developments in business law.

Charity Navigator

An independent charity evaluator, provides free financial evaluations of America's charities.

CNNMoney Calculators

Provides cost of living comparisons between cities, salary calculators by occupation and by city, a real estate calculator and other tools.

Doing Business (World Bank)

This World Bank site is an essential guide to business regulations and their enforcement in 185 countries. See Data for a snapshot of the economy and rankings of each country on ease of doing business.

Entrepreneurship At A Glance

This OECD publication has international statistics and definitions comparing the entrepreneurial culture, structure, vitality, and obstacles in countries with developed economies.

Mapping America - Every City, Every Block

This site maps every zip code and block by race, housing, income, and education levels, using Census sampling from 2005-2009.

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)

The NAICS code is a 6-digit system that defines and categorizes industrial activity in the NAFTA region. NAICS numbers allow you to search for business activity such as industry ratios.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The popular Dept. of Labor guide to more than 300 professions and occupations.

Online Women's Business Center

This U.S. S.B.A. site offers practical advice on starting & running a successful business and contact information for local women's business centers and networks.

Prendismo

Harnessing the insights of experts, Prendismo offers 14,000 short clips on innovation, strategy, leadership, and entrepreneurship.

SIC Manual (Standard Industrial Classification)

SIC is the original industry code used by the government for tracking business activity. Last updated in 1987, it is still useful, but has been officially superceded by NAICS, above.

Small Business Administration (U.S.)

Information about starting, financing, and running a small business.

Thomas Register

Directory of manufacturing companies.

Wall Street Journal Markets Data Center

Data on stocks, indexes, mutual funds, bonds, currencies, commodity prices and futures.

World Chambers Network

From the International Chamber of Commerce, a site with information on local chambers of commerce from around the world.

Ask a Librarian