Skip to Main Content

Library Research Tutorial: Adapted from Canvas Course

This Research Guide runs through the same information as the Library Tutorial course in Canvas. Use this guide to quickly access that information without needing to log into Canvas, and use it as a refresher for the main points in the Canvas tutorial.

Finding Articles with Library Search

 

Library Search is a powerful online tool that combines results from the library's print collections and dozens of article databases.  Some of these article databases are listed in the right column, but you don't need to memorize this list! 

What's important to remember is that searching for articles in Library Search can save you time because:

  1. It covers every subject discipline
  2. It provides PDF articles from thousands of periodicals, and links to even more full-text in other sources.
  3. It allows limiting of search results by scholarly sources and publication dates.
     
     

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

Off-campus users will be prompted to enter your NU ID username and password when accessing most library databases, including full-text articles within Library Search.

The NU ID is the same login used for UNK's Canvas and email systems, but please contact the Library if you have any difficulties accessing a database.

partial listing of databases searched in Library Search:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • America: History & Life
  • Art Abstracts
  • BioOne
  • Britannica Online
  • Business Source Premier
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • EBSCO Ebooks
  • Education Source
  • ERIC
  • JSTOR
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Music Index
  • Political Science Complete
  • PsycINFO
  • SPORTDiscus
  • and dozens of other databases (but not all)!